Communicating with customers on and off-line

Over the past few months working as director of social media and filling in for the field producer of “Dining in the D,” I’ve had the privilege of working with Mustafa Dakroub, CEO of Palm Palace.

Aside from having my limits pushed  beyond my go-to Mediterranean favorites (you have to try the spicy sausage, or sujek, and classic Moroccan lamb), I got to see how Mustafa has one of the savviest minds when it comes to running restaurants, especially when it comes to marketing.

Facebook? Check. Twitter ? Check. Staying in touch with customers through email newsletters? He does that, too.  If I wanted to pick up lunch from the office or pick up a carry-out dinner on my way home, placing my order online from Palm Palace would be at the top of my mind. And aside from Palm Palace’s beautiful website, I enjoy the ambiance at two of the three restaurants I’ve visited even more. They’re more luxurious and well-maintained beyond most other restaurants at its price point, yet still casual and comfortable. Service, however, is not a casual matter. It’s impeccable as it should be at every restaurant.

Short of being on site to keep up on every detail when it comes to quality control, Mustafa and his staff rely on comment cards. No, they’re not a random afterthought that some bored customer might want to fill out while waiting for a check. They’re presented by the servers to the customers before orders are taken, and servers make it a point to ask for them to be completed.

Some owners and managers might see this as one more thing to do on top of everything else they have to do, but Mustafa assured me that every card gets read and that he’s made changes based on what he hears from customers. For example, when times got tough and people started cutting back on their restaurant meals, Palm Palace put together a value menu that has many of its most  popular menu items but served in smaller portions at reduced prices.

If I haven’t sung enough praises about Mustafa and the food at Palm Palace, check out their segment on “Dining in the D.” Warning: don’t watch this on an empty stomach.

Bonnie Caprara is a Detroit-based freelance writer and media media relations and social media consultant. She can be reached at bcaprara@wowway.com and at MsQuote on Twitter.

Leave a comment